StingRay Logo

Human Silhouette

Legend of StingRay

In old times, when I started taking interest in computers so much that I learnt as if “every computerman must have his own nickname, his own legend”, for the first time there came out the problem of choosing a nickname. Stingray TV-Series As far as I remember, that time Russian television just began showing various movies presented by Columbia Pictures, particularly on Saturdays there were usualy TV-series that I used to watch. And one day the really fascinating “Stingray” (handwritten title on black background, I recall) came. The series was founded in a unique concept: the main character named Ray is a mysterious man with unknown past and near-superhuman faculties; nobody knows who he is, where he is from, and why his mission is to help people, especially those who cannot call the police, or who has got an unordinary task. He never takes money for his help, he just says, “Someday I will return, and I will ask you to perform a favor, and you must do it”. Every “returning” help he uses to help the next. Exactly this idea I considered close to me that time, therefore I had chosen “Stingray” as my nickname.

ZX-Spectrum Besides, my then interest in “the best 8-bit PC” Sinclair ZX-Spectrum with its file system under 8.3 standard (8 characters for name, 3 for extension) also was saying “yes” because the newly acquired nickname fit exactly into 8 letters. As the file system was case-insensitive (later this led to the author's diseased upper-case addiction), the spelling of the nickname was changed to “STINGRAY”.

Stingray Fish Wasp The time was going on, likings were changing, and the nickname got a more gorgeous spelling “StingRay” (with stress on the first syllable; sometimes misspelled as “StinGray” or even as “StringArray”). Only now, when I have freshened my memories of the original TV-series, I realizes that I subconsciously accented the name of the main character – Ray – in my nickname. That time it was just a wish to point out that the nickname contains two words: “sting” and “ray”, giving something like “stinging ray” together. Stingray Coctail As a one word, “stingray” (like its synonyms “ray” and “skate”) always could be understood as a graceful primitive fish. But the whole notional likeness between me and a skate is that it has a poison spine at its tail, just like a scorpion Scorpio (my Zodiac sign) has a no less poison sting; besides, my initials form the word “OSA” which in Russian means wasp that has a sting too. The other relevant things are: paintball gun “Stingray”, tank “Stingray”, submarine “Stingray” from “Down Periscope” comedy, alcoholic coctail “Stingray” (I will not adduce its recipe due to “ideological” reasons:-), singers Joanna Stingray and Sting. But neither these things, nor the biological meaning of the word “stingray” has more meaning than that came from the TV-series, “I will help you. But someday I will return, and I will ask you to perform a favor, and you must do it”, a peculiar handling of an old English proverb, “Pay what you owe and you will know what you are worth”.

In September of 2001 the agonized attempts to find my own logo eventuated at long last with the priceless help of my friend Maxim L., and now you can see the logo at the top left corner of every website's page. The author of the logo explains its conception, “Its abstract form and the specification of the logo is conditioned by generality of your activity, it is just a logo of a man. The circle shape has chosen as a basis because it is the most actual for your human characters: mildness and equability, as well as openness from every side (circle as is). And your nickname (sting ray) is reflected in peaks and other acute details”.

Loading…

Логотип StingRay

Поделиться
FacebookFacebookRSSTwitterYouTubeВ контактеОдноклассники
FacebookFacebookRSSTwitterYouTubeВ контактеОдноклассники
Силуэт человека

Легенда StingRay

Когда-то давно, когда я настолько стал интересоваться компьютерами, что узнал, будто бы «у каждого компьютерщика должен быть свой псевдоним, своя легенда», и появилась впервые проблема выбора этого псевдонима, прозвища или, как его модно сейчас называть, «ника» (от англ. “nickname” – «прозвище»). Сериал “Stingray” Помнится, как раз тогда первый канал центрального телевидения стал показывать различные фильмы кинокомпании Columbia Pictures, в частности, по субботам обычно шёл сериал, который я обычно смотрел. Так вот, однажды субботним сериалом стал по настоящему завораживающий “Stingray” – рукописная надпись на чёрном фоне, как сейчас помню. В основу фильма была положена очень необычная идея: главный герой по имени Рэй (Ray) помогает людям, требуя взамен лишь одного – однажды помочь ему… помочь ещё кому-нибудь – эдакий «снежный ком» взаимопомощи (по-английски я назвал его “help on help”). Именно эта концепция показалась мне тогда близка, поэтому “Stingray” стал моим псевдонимом.

ZX-Spectrum Кроме всего прочего, тогдашнее моё увлечение «лучшим 8-разрядным персональным компьютером» Sinclair ZX-Spectrum с его файловой системой стандарта 8.3 (8 символов под имя файла, 3 – под расширение) тоже голосовало «за», ибо впервые обретённый псевдоним умещался ровно в 8 символов. Написание, ввиду нечувствительности всё той же файловой системы к регистру символов, породившей впоследствии болезненное пристрастие автора к заглавным буквам, было изменено на “STINGRAY”.

Скат Оса Время шло, менялись вкусы, и псевдоним приобрёл более витиеватое написание – “StingRay” (c ударением на первый слог; иногда неверно пишется как “StinGray” или даже “StringArray”). Это только сейчас, освежив свои знания о сериале-«прародителе», я понял, что подсознательно выделил в своём псевдониме имя главного героя полюбившегося сериала – Ray. А тогда это было просто желанием подчеркнуть, что псевдоним включает в себя как бы два слова: “sting” (англ. «жало») и “ray” (англ. «луч»), дающие вместе что-то вроде «жалящего луча» («карающей десницы»). Коктейль “Stingray” В качестве же единого слова “stingray” (как, собственно, и слова-синонимы “ray” и “skate”) всегда можно было перевести как «скат» – вид грациозной позвоночной рыбы. Однако всё смысловое сходство между мной и скатом заключается лишь в том, что у ската на конце хвоста есть ядовитый шип, а у скорпиона Скорпион (мой знак Зодиака) там же находится не менее ядовитое жало; кроме того, мои инициалы (Огрызков Станислав Анатольевич) образуют слово «ОСА» – сие насекомое, как известно, также обладает жалом. В качестве других «родственных» вещей можно назвать: пейнтбольную винтовку “Stingray”, одноимённый танк, подводную лодку из комедии «Убрать перископ», алкогольный коктейль (рецепт которого я не буду приводить здесь по «идеологическим» соображениям:-), музыкантов Джоанну Стингрэй (Joanna Stingray) и Стинга (Sting). Но ни что-то из этого списка, ни перевод слова “stingray” на русский язык не имеют того значения, которое было привнесено из сериала: «Я тебе помогу. Но однажды я вернусь и попрошу тебя помочь мне, и ты должен будешь это сделать», – своеобразная трактовка старой русской пословицы «Долг платежом красен».

В сентябре 2001 года мучительные попытки обрести собственный логотип наконец-то разрешились благодаря неоценимой помощи моего друга Максима Л., и теперь вы можете наблюдать этот логотип в левом верхнем углу каждой страницы сайта. Сам автор логотипа так объясняет замысел: «Абстрактная форма и детализация логотипа обусловлена неопределённостью твоей деятельности, это просто логотип человека. Форма круга в основании выбрана как наиболее актуальная для твоих человеческих качеств: мягкость и равномерность, а также открытость со всех сторон (собственно круг). Ну а твой псевдоним (жалящий луч) отражается в пиках и остальных острых деталях».

Загрузка…